Online Security

Facebook Privacy

Facebook's default privacy profile doesn't provide you with much privacy, if at all. We believe in a privacy model where the user grants specific permissions or capabilities to the appropriate viewers. In other words, we prefer to start fully private and then permit specific users access to specific information.

How to Check and Change Your Privacy Settings

  1. Log in to your Facebook account
  2. Once logged in, look for the Menu button and then click on Settings:Facebook menu
  3. Click on Privacy Press the Privacy link
  4. There are two sections for Privacy, Your Activity and How People Find and Contact You
  5. Your Activity
    1. Who can see your future posts?
      There are many choices here. Public, Friends, Friends except..., Specific Friends, Only Me, Custom, and if you have groups that you've created, you can limit to a specific group of people. Friends is probably appropriate for most users, unless you have a Facebook page you really want the entire world of Facebook users to see and be able to read every post you make.
    2. Review all your posts and things you're tagged in
      This is an option to review your Timeline. You can control who can post on your Timeline or Tagging in the Timeline and Tagging settings. You can also control if a Timeline post or tag requires approval before being placed on your Timeline. We recommend conservative settings and approval of posts but this requires more attention if your have a very active Facebook page. You also have the option of viewing your Timeline as others see it to make sure your settings are where you want them to be. Remember, by default, Facebook shows everything to everyone.
    3. Limit the audience...
      We recommend limiting the audience for past posts.
  6. How People Find and Contact You
    1. Who can send you friend requests?
      Everyone is a good choice for most people. If you have an invitation only page, then you can set this to Friends which effectively removes the ability of anyone that is not a friend to send a friend request.
    2. Who can see your friends list?
      Again, there are many options here. Friends or Only Me prevent the rest of the world from figuring out who your friends are and using that knowledge to spoof your Facebook account (i.e. pretend to be you) and fool your friends into accepting a friend request from someone that is only pretending to be you.

      If you get a friend request from a person that is already your friend on Facebook, verify it is a valid request by looking through your friends list to make sure that person is really no longer on your friends list. If that person is still on your friends list, contact them and validate the request before accepting it. This sort of account spoofing happens more often than you might think.
    3. Who can look you up using the email address you provided?
      Friends is the best setting.
    4. Who can look you up using the phone number you provided?
      Friends is the best setting.
    5. Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile?
      Unless you really want the entire world to know you have a Facebook page, No is the best setting.

Content created: 2018-01-31